Orchids of the Year


The COA (Committee on Awards) has great pleasure in announcing the 2022 Orchids of the Year. More information about these orchids, including details supplied by the growers, can be obtained from the Orchids 2023 Yearbook.

Orchid of the Year (George Fuller Trophy) & Cymbidium of the Year

Cymbidium Little Beauty ‘Ohm Princess’ AM/OCNZ, 84.83 points
Owner: Thomas Brown, Whangārei

Species Orchid of the Year

Sarcochilus weinthalii ‘Memoria David Hutchins’ CCC/OCNZ, 86.67 points
Owner: Patricia Hutchins, Wairoa

Cultural Award of the Year

Pterostylis aff. montana ‘Corbell’ CCE/OCNZ, 91 points
Owner: Ernie & Joan Corbett, Taranaki

Our warmest congratulations to the owners of these selected orchids. Please go here to see the full list of awarded orchids for 2022.

Previous Orchids of the Year